17 Posts
6 Users
0 Reactions
Zamantha
(@zamantha)
Member Moderator
Topic starter

Post by Morf13 on our former ZKSite.
Paul Avery was a major player in the Zodiac story. He wrote many Zodiac articles. He was the guy that broke the link between Zodiac & Cheri Jo Bates. He also received the infamous Halloween card from Zodiac warning him "You are doomed"

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If Zodiac ever joined a Z forum, I’m sure he would have been banned for not following forum rules. Zam’s/Quote
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Posted : April 3, 2013 1:15 am
Zamantha
(@zamantha)
Member Moderator
Topic starter

Post by Britta.
At the request of a good Z friend, I thought I’d pop in and offer up some info from my recent trip to visit Margo St. James, political activist extraordinaire and Paul Avery’s widow. I’ve been researching Avery for several years now (it’s a never-ending project, trust me) and have become good friends with St. James as a result. St. James lives on Orcas Island, off the coast of Washington state. She moved to Washington with Paul when he became seriously ill in the 90’s and cared for him there until his death in 2000.

I visited Margo to aid her in the organization of her files as she begins writing her own memoirs. In exchange, I received access to any of Paul’s things I could find– no small task, as Margo’s things are spread out between several houses, all inhabited by many (fascinating) people in the years following Paul’s death. Still, I have been endlessly lucky, as Paul was a dedicated chronicler and labeled everything he owned with his distinct signature– "YrsTrlyAvery".

Paul’s own copy of Graysmith’s Zodiac